Mindfulness Meditation for the Busy Mind


Mondays in June @ 5:45-6:40 pm.


Stress kills

Meditation reduces stress

Meditate & live a longer, happier life.



Whitney has been teaching meditation for 17 years and practicing meditation under the Vipassana Theravada lineage for 19 years. Her Whitney-head shot pinkmeditation path deepened while pursuing her PhD in Clinical Psychology. During this training she decided, amidst the piles of research, that Mindfulness Meditation was the modality she wanted to research over any other form of psychotherapy. After leaving her PhD program, she focused primarily on Mindfulness, Dharma and Meditation leading her to undertake a series of long retreats. Eventually, she completed an intensive two-year dharma training at Spirit Rock Meditation Center and a teacher training at the Mindfulness Institute.


VipassanaWheelIt has been a little over one week since returning from my 10 day Vipassana and I am beginning to digest more of my experience each day. Vipassana is a style of meditation wherein you practice silence, do not eat after noon and spend most of the day meditating. The foundation of the teaching is to practice Sila; moral conduct, Samadhi; concentration of the mind and Pana; wisdom of insight.

There is a code of discipline that you vow to adhere to during the course. The code includes: abstaining from killing any being, stealing, sexual activity, telling lies and abstinence from all intoxicants.

I am forever grateful to my family, friends and teachers for their support and love while I was on this inner journey. Without their help, I could not have had this inspiring experience.

Thank You!

All Rivers Lead To The Sea; The 8 Limb Path

The core of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra is an eight-limbed path that forms the structural framework for yoga practice. Upon practicing all eight limbs of the path it becomes self-evident that no one element is elevated over another in a hierarchical order. Each is part of a holistic focus which eventually brings completeness to the individual as they find their connectivity to the divine. Because we are all uniquely individual a person can emphasize one branch and then move on to another as they round out their understanding.

This ideology encourages one to continue in the spiritual/religious path that they have chosen or were born into, while applying these principles.

       In brief the eight limbs, or steps to yoga, are as follows:eight-limbs

1. Yama :  Universal morality

2. Niyama :  Personal observances

3. Asanas :  Body postures

4. Pranayama :  Breathing exercises, and control of prana

5. Pratyahara :  Control of the senses

6. Dharana :  Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness

7. Dhyana :  Devotion, Meditation on the Divine

8. Samadhi :  Union with the Divine